Remove this ad

Lead

Jul 15 13 12:03 PM

Tags : :

Hi,

We have a compressor as listed above (air cooled version) and have had a problem that has crept up gradually over the last couple of months.
When switching to load the compressor does not respond and can take between 2 and 25 minutes to actually show pressure on the gauge.

Prior to switching to load there is zero pressure on the gauge .
We have performed checks on the solenoids and the pressure switch and the unit runs fine all day it's just start up.

Also it seems that the colder the temp the longer it takes to get pressure up.

I am an apprentice covering for the boss while he has an operation, we are trying to avoid having the Atlas Copco guys in for a look at this stage as they want $2000 before they even open their toolbox.(we are out in the stix)

Any advice appreciated.

Quote    Reply   
Remove this ad
Remove this ad

#1 [url]

Jul 16 13 9:38 AM

Hallo fitter,

in order for the compressor go in "load mode" the compressor needs to open the intake valve. So start from that point. Here is what you should do step by step:

1. Be prepared to follow the internal pressure - the pressure inside the compressor before the minimum check valve. Some of Atlas Copco compressors has a button which indicates the pressure inside the compressor on the main gauge, others have second gauge for the internal pressure - I dont know if your compressor has such option.

If not - install a gauge somewhere in the compressor before the minimum pressure valve and if possible after the separator filter.

2. Remove the suction (air) filter in order to get a better view on the intake valve. Take care to remove any objects from the "reach" of the intake valve in order to avoid falling objects in the airend.